Tags

, , , , , , ,

Often times, I wonder how I’m going to accomplish some of Eva Gizowska, “Things to do now that you’re…single again”.

Such as this one, “Sometimes, if you want to break out of a rut, you’re just going to have to break the rules”.

What does she even mean? What rules?  How am I supposed to do this?

Really, my rap sheet isn’t squeaky clean or anything, but I’ve always been a responsible person, even more so after becoming a parent. I not only haven’t acted my age in the five or so years that I’ve had a child, but I can’t even figure out how exactly, someone my age, is supposed to act. Hell, I can’t be sure of how old I even am.

Well, it turns out, this is one of those things that can’t be planned. I could leave this post right there.

The End!

 

 

But that wouldn’t be much fun. Recently, I’ve been told I have been doing this whole being single thing, wrong. So is breaking the rules, right?

I’m not sure how I could be doing this single thing wrong. I’m following a book for god’s sake.

I work multiple jobs.
I run a non-profit that I started.
I spend tons of quality time with my son.
I take night classes.
I’m in a book club.
I go out to eat with my girlfriends.
I volunteer.
I’m not afraid of hitting up a festival alone.
I am accomplishing things I’ve always wanted to to do.
I’ve been following the rules.
But I haven’t broken any.

So, fuck the rules! Last weekend I went out. I went out and stayed out. (I hear that’s what people my age do when they don’t have children to report to.) I enjoyed adult beverages. I irresponsibly left my phone in the car. (Though it was really just dead and on the charger). I acted my age. Which I discovered! (I’ll be celebrating my fourth twenty-first birthday in January). I made new friends. I danced. (Refer to one of my earlier post; Seize the moment Dance, in regards to my feelings on that). I had a good time, I had a great time! I was happy! Very happy! I broke the rules and seized every second of it.

I woke up with a hang over. And I won’t be doing that often.

 

 

But I’ll likely do it again. 😉

