Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Most of Eva Gizowska’s first chapter, Seize the Moment, in her book “Things to do now that you’re…single again” are self-centered. (Which I say in a positive light).  However the suggested task I completed this week was focused on sharing.

“If you have a talent, share it! Pass on your skill to someone by becoming their teacher- it could be anything from learning how to use a computer to baking a cake.”

You could twist this suggestion into being quite self-centered as well. As you have to acknowledge a talent or skill you posses in order to complete this goal. Personally, I very much believe giving is receiving and typically find pleasure and self-fulfillment in doing so.

I however, steered away from talent. Honestly, I couldn’t think of any. I don’t cook or bake exceptionally well, I can’t sow, only sing and dance in private places, and I don’t really have any (or have time for any) hobbies.

So what now?

Well, I enjoy public speaking and i’m pretty good at too. (Thank you Chris Miller, all time best speech professor!) But I wouldn’t try teaching anyone how-to. Still, I could use it to share some knowledge I have.

Recently I was trained in opiate overdose prevention training for the non-profit I founded. I took it a step further and got trained to train others too! A few weeks ago I hosted a training session and educated twenty participants on how to prevent an overdose and how to prevent an occurring overdose from being fatal.

In Illinois, we have the Good Sam Act that allows immunity to those who call 911 in the event of an overdose. And it allows any lay person (with training, such as what I provide) to carry and administer Naloxone, the opiate overdose antidote. I trained people and provided them with this life-saving drug.

Since that training, a life has already been saved thanks to the Naloxone I gave out!

That wasn’t talent, that was saving a life! And if that’s not seizing the moment, I’m not sure what is.
Image

